History of Mosman Park
The Perth Road Board was responsible for the area now known as the Town of Mosman Park, from 1871 until 1893, when some residents of Claremont petitioned successfully for their area to become a separate road district.
The new local authority (Claremont) controlled the district from the Subiaco part of Crawley, as far as North Fremantle. The following year, Cottesloe and Peppermint Grove residents made applications for separate road districts; however, only Cottesloe’s application succeeded. Sir John Forrest claimed that Peppermint Grove’s area of 250 acres was too small.
Nevertheless, in 1895, he granted the application which, by then, included the area now known as Mosman Park, and the Peppermint Grove Board came into being. Because of arguments over road building and preferences, the Peppermint Grove Road Board, under the chairmanship of Dr Jameson, divided the district into two.
The old Prospect Place, with its 250 acres, remained the Peppermint Grove Road District and the seceding part became known as Buckland Hill Road District. The first meeting of this new Board was held on 6 December 1899, in a shop in Mason Street (later Stirling Highway) between Willis and Stuart Street.
In 1907 the Road Board changed its name to Cottesloe Beach Road Board. This name remained for twenty-three years. In 1930 after many years of Government pressure, it was changed back to Buckland Hill and so it remained until the Mosman Park Road District was gazetted on 9 February 1937.
In 1961, the Local Government Act came into effect, and the district became known as the Shire of Mosman Park.
In the following year, 1962, the Shire was converted to a Town, and the present name of the Town of Mosman Park was adopted. Mosman Park is administered by a Town Council consisting of a Mayor and six Councillors.
Mosman Park Heritage Trail
It is hard to imagine this quiet suburb as an isolated ‘country town’ or the home of large-scale industry. Yet once this was a place of open bushland and large factories that lined the river and the highway. Going to ‘the pictures’ or a local dance was a treat for hardworking residents on Friday and Saturday nights, while Sundays were reserved for family fun at the river or the beach.
The Mosman Park Heritage Trail is a 10.5 kilometre route that explores some highlights of Mosman Park’s history and uncovers traces of the past that have been left behind. Take the time to explore the trail, in whole or in part, and don’t forget to take in the beautiful scenery of this unique municipality, between river and sea.
For more information on the Mosman Park Heritage Trail click here.
What’s in a name?
Ever wondered who Mann Oval was named after, or who Alf Adams was? Click here to find out.
Resources and information
The Grove Library have a store of heritage images of our Town, including historic images of the earliest days of stately homes, schools in the district, places of interest, our shopping precincts and key events. The Community History Library is situated at the Eastern section of The Grove Library in Peppermint Grove. Sindy Dowden, the Community History Librarian, can help you locate information within the Collection and assist with community based enquiries.